Return to Headlines

Five LVJUSD Students Named National Merit Scholarship Finalists

April 29, 2022- Livermore, CA - Five students from the Livermore Valley Joint Unified School District (LVJUSD) have been named as finalists for a National Merit Scholarship. Out of the approximately 1.5 million high school juniors who take the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) each year, only the top 1% qualify as semi-finalists who then go on to compete for finalist titles their senior year. 

Livermore High School’s Milan Grewal, Justin Lam, and Simon Laney and Granada High School’s Roxanne Frank and Jacques Grove have been named National Merit Finalists for this year. “The dedication, focus, and commitment to academic excellence required to receive a National Merit Finalist distinction is significant. We are so proud of our students and look forward to watching their futures in education and beyond,” shared Superintendent Kelly Bowers. 

Finalists are selected based on various criteria submitted by the students and their schools including academic record, PSAT/NMSQT and SAT scores, recommendations, extracurricular accomplishments, and an essay. In addition to the five finalists,15 students from both high schools were recognized as National Merit Commended Students, an achievement that exemplifies educational excellence as well. This year’s Commended Students from Granada High are: Jacob Bauman, Clarissa Cheung, Tyler Eaton, Shriya Kona, Kanksha Koti, Elizabeth Lau, Elizabeth Ludwig, Katherine Meezan, Adam Sahn, Daniel Thinfen, and Daphne Yan. Livermore High’s Commended Students are: Nicholas Carrano, Lucia Gutierrez, Mufaro Mafuka, and Erika McKee.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) is a not-for-profit organization established in 1955 in order to conduct this scholarship program. Scholarships are underwritten by the NMSC, business organizations, and higher education institutions seeking to support the academic pursuits of promising high school scholars.

Photo collage courtesy of LVJUSD and Creative Imaging

Photo #1: Five National Merit Finalists for 2022

National Merit Scholarship Finalists