Return to Headlines

Ten LVJUSD Schools Win 2022 California Pivotal Practice (CAPP) Awards

April 26, 2022- Livermore, CA - The Livermore Valley Joint Unified School District (LVJUSD) is pleased to announce ten schools that have been recognized as 2022 California Pivotal Practice (CAPP) Award Program winners by the California Department of Education. Those schools include:

  • Andrew N. Christensen Middle

  • Arroyo Seco Elementary

  • Del Valle Continuation High 

  • East Avenue Middle

  • Emma C. Smith Elementary

  • Granada High

  • Junction Avenue K-8

  • Leo R. Croce Elementary

  • Livermore High

  • William Mendenhall Middle

The California Pivotal Practice Award Program was designed in partnership with California’s education associations to celebrate districts and schools that completed an online application highlighting an innovative practice that was implemented during the 2020–21 school year, when California required schools to offer distance learning due to the COVID-19 pandemic. 

"We are tremendously proud of the innovative and creative ways in which our schools have educated through the pandemic. These recognitions highlight their dedication and commitment to providing students with the highest quality educational experience no matter what challenges are put in their way," remarked Superintendent Kelly Bowers.

Each school will receive a certificate from State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tony Thurmond and a 2022 California Pivotal Practice Award Program flag to be displayed at their school.

“Our students, our District, and our Nation have experienced some of its most challenging times these past two years. Education, in particular, was challenged to unprecedented levels. Today’s announcement by the CDE is especially telling of the resilience our students and teachers have exhibited. With the support of our Livermore community and our State and Federal partners, we have built back better and are pushing to new heights. Our schools are going through a transformation and these prestigious awards are another step toward excellence,” expressed Craig Bueno, LVJUSD Board President.

Full Press Release:
CDE California Pivotal Practices Award Program Press Release